top of page


FISITA announces inaugural recipients of international technical leadership awards

FISITA, the international membership organisation for the automotive and mobility systems engineering profession, today honoured over twenty technologists at the first FISITA Academy of Technical Leadership awards.

The 2019 recipients were acknowledged and recognised at the FISITA World Mobility Summit celebratory dinner in Nagoya, Japan this evening. The FISITA Academy of Technical Leadership, which launches with Automotive News as Official Media Partner, is a unique status established within the automotive and mobility systems engineering community. Recipients are recognised as leading technologists who have made a significant commitment and contribution within the industry – the full 2019 list is released today:

  • Mr. Gaspar Gascon Abellan Groupe Renault

  • Prof. Yasuhiro Daisho Waseda University

  • Dr. Volkmar Denner Robert Bosch GmbH

  • Ms. Pamela Fletcher General Motors

  • Dr. Pawan Goenka Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd.

  • Mr. Ola Källenius Daimler AG

  • Prof. Klaus Kompass BMW Group

  • Ms. Nadine Leclair Groupe Renault

  • Dr. Jun Li Tsinghua University

  • Prof. Helmut List AVL List GmbH

  • Mr. Paul Mascarenas OBE Fontalis Partners

  • Mr. Toshihiro Mibe Honda Motor Co., Ltd.

  • Mr. Daniel E. Nicholson General Motors

  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Pischinger FEV Group

  • Mr. Hideyuki Sakamoto Nissan Motor Co., Ltd.

  • Mr. T. Russel Shields Ygomi LLC

  • Mr. Shikegi Terashi Toyota Motor Corporation

  • Dr. Wolfgang Warnecke Shell

  • Dr. Ken Washington Ford Motor Company

  • Dr. Woong-chul Yang Hyundai Motor Group

  • Mr. Fu Yuwu China SAE

  • Mr. Huarong Zhu Changan Automobile

  • Prof. Fuquan Zhao Tsinghua University

Chris Mason, FISITA CEO, said: “Many congratulations to this outstanding group of international mobility technologists who have become inaugural members of the FISITA Academy of Technical Leadership. We are delighted to have awarded this prestigious status and unique recognition for the first time during our technical leadership Summit in Japan.”

A collection of 2019 recipient quotes:

Dr. Pawan Goenka, Managing Director, Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd:

“I’m greatly honoured and humbled to be named in the inaugural FISITA Academy of Technical Leadership – my heartfelt gratitude to FISITA and my industry colleagues for this technical leadership award. I would also like to take this opportunity to acknowledge the collective zeal and effort of my colleagues over the past 29 years who have contributed to what our company and what I as an individual have achieved.”

Mr. Toshihiro Mibe, Managing Officer, Honda Motor Co., Ltd:

“I would like to share this pleasure with all of our employees around the world – this honour should be a great motivation for Honda to continue contributing to worldwide mobility. Honda will continue to work with FISITA as a great partner.”

Dr. Ken Washington, Chief Technology Officer, Ford Motor Company:

“Thank you to FISITA and my industry colleagues for selecting me for this great honour. I’d like to recognise my colleagues at Ford Motor Company, especially the research and advanced engineering team; it’s a privilege to serve as their leader. FISITA has a significant impact of automotive engineers all around the world so Ford is delighted to be a supporter of FISITA.”

Recipients of the FISITA Academy of Technical Leadership were unveiled at the Summit in Nagoya, Japan on 5 November – for more information about the Academy and its recipients see:


bottom of page